Register
It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 9:02 pm

Rear window defogger not working

View active topics

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 3:23 am   
Anyone have trouble with the rear window defogger on the convertible? I have an '03 Seb Convert. I found a connection off the window on the right side to I got some special electrical conductive glue made especially for this problem. Followed the instruction. Good bond. But it still doesn't work. Checked fuses. Seem ok. I was thinking of getting a continuity checker to check connection to see if any juice is getting back there. I am not an expert with this stuff but I have been able to fix a few things.
Any suggestions or any one with the same problem with the convertible window?
Thanks,
Ted

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:33 am   

That is a very common problem on these cars. The glue just doesn't work well either. About the best thing to do is solder the connector back on.

Profile WWW  
 PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 3:51 pm   
Site Administrator
Site Administrator

I agree with the resoldering ..my 99 did that...works now...
Question ;do you get a beep from the button when you try to turn it on? or does it light up like it's on but just dosen't work? My father in law beeps when you press the button...and fails to even turn on...(relay clicks on and off immediately)

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 3:16 am   
Hardhat,
Yes it beeps when I hit the button on the dash and the relay clicks as well but no melting snow or ice happens. Evidently the "special conductive glue" is a bust. I will try the soldering. Thanks for the response.
LXI03

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 1:11 pm   
Bronze Member